Enough already!

Posted: April 28, 2009 in work
Tags: ,

For those that don’t know, the plant I’ve worked at for the last 8 years is closing in a couple of months. I’ve come to terms with that. There’s nothing I can do to change it. It’s just not financially feasible for them to keep operating two plants when both are running at about 1/4 capacity. I’ve been expecting this for the last six months.

But if one more person tells me, “It’ll be ok”, or “Everything will work out”, I just might hit them. I don’t need comforting. I know everything’s gonna work out and I’ll survive. If I’m not bawling my eyes out, I don’t need comforting. Just treat it like it’s a normal day. On the last day, however, I’m sure the vast majority of us will need comforting. I already know I’m gonna cry like a little girl. I tear up when I think about it too much, which is why I don’t want people to try to comfort me right now. If they do, I’m gonna get emotional.

So to sum it up, I’m losing my job but I’m ok. You’ll know when my last day is because you’ll be able to hear the sobs from a mile away. Until then, it’s business as usual.

Comments
  1. mandy says:

    My heart goes out to you…….

    • Mike says:

      Thank you. It’s gonna be hard to get through this, but just knowing there are people out there who actually care will really help.

Leave a Reply

