Illegal Immigration

Posted: April 28, 2009 in healthcare, immigration, politics
Tags: , , , ,

Full disclosure: I’m a supporter of FAIR and The Heritage Foundation. These are the first two organizations I’ve ever donated (just $25) to. I know there are A LOT of people who don’t agree with them, and that’s fine. I doubt I agree with them on everything.

With that out of the way, in an email from Heritage there was a link to an article in the LA Times about California counties cutting health care for illegals. First and foremost, as I’m sure most of you know, if you’re sick and it’s an emergency doctors are required by law to treat you regardless of your status. There was a quote from one woman, Marina Espinoza, that kinda bothered me. Ms Espinoza is an illegal immigrant residing in Contra Costa County. She has diabetes and high blood pressure. “None of us choose to get sick,” said Espinoza, 39. “I can’t afford the medications. How can I pay for that? It’s that or rent.” Before anybody gets in a tizzy about this, she’s considering returning to Mexico where a relative has a lead on a job with health insurance.

One thing that bothers me is we have illegal aliens being interviewed by the LA Times. If they can find them, why can’t ICE? What’s the point of having immigration laws when they’re not going to be enforced? Ms Espinoza’s quote bothered me because there are millions of legal American citizens who can’t afford health care right now. I’ll soon join those millions when my job is done away with in a couple of months. She’s right about one thing: no one chooses to get sick. But when you come to this country illegally, by what right do you deserve health care at taxpayer expense when you’re not paying taxes?

These counties are doing this in order to save money. And I for one commend them for this. Many of you are probably thinking I’m an asshole right now because I don’t want illegals getting health care. That’s only partially true. Everyone has a right to health care. I just don’t think that I should have to pay for someone elses while still paying for mine. If they want health care, they can try to find a job to pay for it. Of course, to find a job with health benefits you’ll probably have to be a legal citizen, or at least have a valid work visa. Also, it’s not just illegal alien health care I don’t want to pay for. I don’t want to pay for anybody’s other than my own, until I have a family and then I’ll pay for theirs, too.

Of course, this could be a moot point. According to FAIR, Congress is having a hearing this Thursday on “immigration reform”, otherwise known as amnesty. There are an estimated twelve million illegal immigrants in this country. They come from all over the globe, not just Mexico. Laos, Russia, China, even Canada, among others. Can you imagine the economic strain that would put on our already struggling economy? With unemployment at 8.5%, the highest it’s been in 25 years, how is amnesty going to help us? And this hearing is going to be chaired by none other than Chuck Schumer (D-NY).

Traditional values are dead? American’s don’t want a strong foreign policy? Maybe you should talk to your fellow New Yorkers about that last one, Chucky. Perhaps someone should take a poll and see how Americans feel about granting amnesty to twelve million illegals. Oh, someone already did?  US News cites a Rasmussen poll. Also, there’s a Zogby poll. There are others, but, since I’m running out of time I won’t put them all here (I have to start getting ready for work soon, while I still have a job). Perhaps someone should clue good ol’ Chuck into where traditional values are alive and the majority want TRUE immigration reform, not an amnesty bill in the guise of reform that will only weaken our economy even more. And I’ll say what appears no one in D.C. will: ship evey single illegal immigrant back to whichever country they came from and let them come in through the front door next time.

Leave a Reply

