Abstinence

Posted: June 10, 2009 in news, rants
Tags: , ,

I don’t really have much time to write about this since I’m about to go to work, but here are the highlights. I recently read a story on AOL about an engaged couple who are waiting until their wedding to share their first kiss. They’ve done the whole nose rubbing thing, holding hands, etc. But it’s not evolved into a sexual relationship. Truly abstaining from sexual activity is virtually unheard of, and when someone speaks out in favor of abstaining they’re ridiculed from all sides. More on that later.

Why don’t we hear stories like this couple more often? Or about the couple in Arkansas not too long ago? When did abstinence become taboo? These are real role models for kids, but they’re treated like mutants. I, for one, congratulate them and wish them the best of luck in life.

Okay, I’m back from work now. Earlier when I said that when someone speaks out in favor of abstaining they’re ridiculed, I had one specific person in mind: Bristol Palin. Why do left-wing zealots, i.e. “comedians”, feel that since they don’t agree with her mom they need to drag her through the mud? She’s learned from her past (I won’t say mistake because no child is a mistake) and is trying to teach her generation the safest form of sex: no sex. But when she did an interview on, I think it was the Today Show, they tried to trick her into saying her baby was a mistake. But she didn’t.

She seems like a smart kid and a good mom. I don’t know much about her, but when I see her giving interviews, baby in arm, she appears to be a loving mom. And I know about loving moms because I have one. People joke about her not being the right person to talk about abstinence because she got pregnant at 17. If that’s the case, why do we have convicts speak to high school kids about the dangers of whatever crime they committed? Why do alcoholics speak to kids about the dangers of drinking? Why do smokers talk to kids about the dangers of smoking? The fact is, the best people to speak out about the consequences of whatever action are the people who have performed said action and learned from it.

There are times that I wish I had waited to have sex until I was married, but I can’t change the past (although I did wait an inordinate amount of time). I’m still embarrassed to tell most people the real age I lost my virginity because of the “taboo” that’s associated with waiting so long. I didn’t tell my best friend until recently. Only when abstinence is the number one form of birth control will that taboo go away. It really is the best choice. Think about it: you have no chance of getting pregnant and no chance of getting an STD. Unlike the pill and condoms. Remember, they’re not foolproof.

And the best argument for abstinence would have to be the movie Idiocracy written by Mike Judge (King of the Hill, Beavis and Butthead) and starring Luke Wilson and Mya Rudolph. If you haven’t seen it, watch it. If you have, then you know what I’m talking about.

Leave a Reply

