What’s next?

Posted: June 12, 2009 in news, politics, rants
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

With Obama naming so many czars (some say it’s sixteen while others say it’s closer to twenty-one) answerable only to him, can someone please tell me what’s happening to our system of checks and balances? Let me name off the ones I know of so far:

There’s a Great Lakes czar, an economic czar, regulatory czar, government performance czar, drug czar, terrorism czar, intelligence czar, urban affairs czar, technology czar, cyber czar, car czar, health czar, border czar, stimulus czar, pay czar (or compensation czar, whichever you prefer), Iran czar, and a bailout czar.

That’s seventeen so far, and those are just the ones I know of. Just to be clear, I got about twelve of them from Glenn Beck and the others from Thomson Reuters (who also named the ones Beck did). So back to my original question: since they only answer to the president, where are the checks and balances? Where’s the transparency we were promised during the campaign?

This all started, as far as I know, with FDR and his “dictators”. And then Nixon, good ol’ Tricky Dick himself, appointed the first “czar”. I heard yesterday how much money they will be in charge of but for the life of me I can’t remember the exact number or find it on the web, but I do know it was in the trillions of dollars. What’s next, a food czar? Or does that fall under the health czar’s jurisdiction? Maybe a home czar. Or perhaps a czar czar, someone in charge of all the czars? Wait, that would be Obama.

Answer me this: is he just overwhelmed by the many facets of his job? Or is this a power grab? Either way, this does not instill confidence in me. If he’s overwhelmed, I have a cure but it’s just too new, too radical. I don’t even think I can write it down. No, I must. I have to. Otherwise no one else will say it. Perhaps the federal government should start focusing solely on national security and commerce with other nations. There, it’s out. I know, it’s just too radical an idea. Damn me and my conservative ideology. Wait a minute, that’s not conservative ideology. It’s closer to libertarian. But more than that, it’s what our founders had in mind when they broke away from the repression of Britain.

How have we gotten so far away from this ideology? Many people blame progressives, starting with Teddy Roosevelt. I’m not sure. I don’t know much about progressives, but I soon will. I don’t know who to blame, but I know that there is no provision in the Constitution allowing for the circumvention of our system of checks and balances, which is what these czars do. No one in the government should be answerable to only one person. If you believe they should be, may the Lord have mercy on us all.

Leave a Reply

