Intro to my hopefully upcoming book

Posted: August 7, 2009 in my book
Tags: ,

Introduction

I think I’m like most of you. I grew up poor, but not so poor that I knew it at the time. My dad is a working man He was a truck driver when I was born, quit for a while to do backhoe & bulldozer work for about a year or two, then went back out on the road. I remember when I would go with him during Summer & Winter breaks. I had a lot of fun but I soon realized I wasn’t cut out to be a truck driver.

Mom was a stay-at-home mom until I was about 8 or 9. That was the time she went back to school to be a teacher. If not for her I probably wouldn’t have done as well as I did. She got out of teaching for a while & went to work at a casual furniture business. She worked there for several years then finally got tired of not being appreciated for the work and hours she put in. That’s when she got back into teaching and still does it to this day.

My parents divorced when I was 17, a senior in high school, and although it was rough for a while I wouldn’t trade them for all the money in the world. I love them both with all my heart and I always will.

When I was in either fifth or sixth grade I started playing little league baseball. I played for about three years (I never swung the bat my first year but I got walked more than most). I had fun but decided not to play when I got to high school.

My family and I used to go camping every year. I loved it. We had a pontoon boat so we were able to go out on the lake and go fishing, skiing, tubing, or just ride around. Those were the happiest times of my life.

These are things we probably have in common. The point where we differ is that I never really knew what I believed, about anything. I would just agree with everyone. That way no one ever got mad at me for disagreeing with them. Things didn’t really change until I was 27.

I’m 29 and I now have a theory. Well, it’s not really my theory. It didn’t originate with me. But it is, I believe, a sound theory. That theory is that the U.S. government has become one giant community organizing group. Some of you might be thinking, “what’s wrong with that?” What I’m going to do is take you back to past attempts by previous presidents, scholars, and others to “organize” America.

For those of you who are like I was, I hope this book can in some small way help you find your voice.

Leave a Reply

