It bothers me when people preach about tolerance toward one group…but some other group is ok to judge.

Take, for instance, homosexuality. Many people believe that homosexuals should have access to the same rights as heterosexuals. I happen to agree with that. But there are many people that, while preaching tolerance toward homosexuals, have a lot of intolerance for religious people (and others, but I’m just gonna use the one example).

Apparently, “creationists are ignorant morons” (a phrase I’ve seen & heard many times). So, because I take it on faith that there is a being greater than mankind capable of making something out of nothing, I’m an ignorant moron. But what about scientists who take it on faith that there is a particle (Higgs Boson, aka the God particle) that allowed anti-matter & matter to combine without destroying each other, thus giving matter mass? There is, as of now, no solid proof that such a particle exists. Yet why are they not judged?

Also, no one has explained to me where, if space was a vacuum in the beginning (nothing can exist inside a vacuum), where did the pinhole size gas cloud come from? And what was the catalyst that caused it to explode? Where did that catalyst come from?

Tolerance is a two-way street. I try to practice what I preach. I slip occasionally. Many of my posts, both here & on WordPress, are things I don’t necessarily believe anymore.

Many people think I’m a walking contradiction. I’m a Republican, Christian (though I’m far from perfect), I believe gays should be allowed to get married, I don’t support the Iraq war or the nation building the last administration got us involved in, I believe in going after al Qaeda, I’m vocal in my support for the troops, I believe immigration laws should be more conducive to uncapped legal immigration while being tough on those who come here illegally, I don’t support the drug war…I can go on & on.

I know there are people who disagree with me. Millions, actually. And you know what? That makes for the best conversations. Politically speaking, my mom & I are diametrically opposed, but we can talk for hours, civilly, on the subject.

I believe people should be free to make their own decisions as long as they’re not hurting anyone else. You wanna do meth? Fine. You wanna steal from me to support your habit? Hell no.

God gave us free will. He allows us to make mistakes because he knows that’s the best way for us to learn.

Will I judge again? Probably. Heck, this whole post judges people. But in a way that I would like to be judged.

To sum up: if there’s proof I’m wrong, show me. If you have definitive proof there is no God, show me . If you want tolerance, lead by example. Tolerance for nonviolence.

“Judge not, that ye be not judged. For with what judgment ye judge, ye shall be judged: and with what measure ye mete, it shall be measured to you again.” Matthew 7:1-2 “Thou hypocrite, first cast out the beam out of thine own eye; and then shalt thou see clearly to cast out the mote out of thy brother’s eye.” Matthew 7:5

Comments
  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, Satellite Direct Tv

Leave a Reply

